New Publications   5 comments

In 2012, we have two new major Abhidharmakosa publications:


Abhidharmakośa-Bhāṣya of Vasubandhu
The Treasury of the Abhidharma and its (Auto)commentary

Translated into French by Louis de La Vallée Poussin

Annotated English Translation by Gelong Lodrö Sangpo

With a New Introduction by Bhikkhu KL Dhammajoti

Four Volumes: 2898 pages
(Delhi: Motilal Banarsidass 2012)

This is available at:

(it comes to about $100)

This looks really great to me.

Various supplemental materials can be found at:



Jewels From the Treasury: Vasubandhu’s Verses on the Treasury of Abhidharma and Its Commentary Youthful Play by the Ninth Karmapa Wangchuk Dorje (KTD Publications, 2012)

This is available at Amazon and other places too.

I have not had a chance to look at this yet.

with palms joined,


Posted October 26, 2012 by abhidharmakosa in Uncategorized

5 responses to “New Publications

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hello, I just found your blog, and I am grateful for your efforts to make this complex field more easily graspable!
    Regarding the English translation by Gelong Lodrö Sangpo, is this a translation from the French, or directly from the Sanskrit (etc.)?
    If it is a translation from de La Vallée Poussin’s French, do you find any advantage over Pruden’s similar translation? (except perhaps the price)
    I already have Pruden, but wonder if it would be a benefit to spring for the newer translation as well…

    Thank you for your help!

    Best wishes for you and all,
    Edgar Cooke, Tokyo

  2. I have not had a chance to do a close reading of the translation by Gelong Lodrö Sangpo.
    It is from the French.
    I did check on some points that I feel are problematic in the Pruden, and I think Sangpo does a better job with the passages I checked out.
    The notes seem to be more extensive in the Sangpo. It ends up being a much larger work (almost 3000 pages).
    The Sangpo also includes a substantial introduction by Dhammajoti which is a great plus.
    I am not sure if Dhammajoti was consulted on some of the difficult passages (it would be great if the Sanskrit was consulted).
    Given all this, I would recommend it over the Pruden independent of the price.
    As for obtaining this if you already own the Pruden, I think it depends on how deep you want to get into this.
    I wish you well in the Dharma!

  3. Thank you for your valuable comments. I enjoy reading Pruden’s version, comparing it with the Chinese and some commentaries in Japan, but I will definitely look for Sangpo’s version!
    Best wishes to you and all!
    Edgar Cooke

  4. I am grateful to the uploaded study notes of Abhidharmakosa Study Blog.
    I am a Japanese Buddhist and a former professor of physics. I have read the translated version (No.2) of Jewels From the Treasury (KTD Publications, 2012). It is interesting to find and compare difference of translated English terms and sentences between the two publications No.1 and No.2 of your BLog.

    For example, Abhidharmakosa I.3 is translated in the No.1 version is
    “Apart from the discernment of the dharmas, there is no means to extinguish the defilements”
    Corresponding part of the No.2 version is
    “Without full discernment of dharmas, there is not any method to totally quell the afflictions”

    Anyway, this is a great opportunity to deep understanding the Abhidharmakosa. The Abhidharam appears to describe scientific approach or study collected in literature in the 4th century, much earlier than the age of modern science. It appears to me that Abhidharam Buddhism and Science both share the same stance of approach to reality without relying on miracles nor holiness. I am inclined to say this approach to be scientific.

    Best wihses to you and all.
    Gassho, with palms joined.

    T. J. Kambe
    Tokyo, Japan

Leave a Reply

